Video Overview

Project Status Management

Already an established user in FunctionFox? Dive into some advanced tools and features.

Closing Projects

The process of closing projects is an important step in maintaining your FunctionFox account. Keeping your projects up to date helps team members stay informed, improves data accuracy, and helps streamline project management practices.

CTA Banner

Closing projects is also a necessary step in archiving, as discussed below.

To close a Project:

  1. Go to Projects > Project Status.
  2. From this page you’ll notice a list of all your projects and their given statuses. Find the project you wish to close.
  3. Click on the status in-line and change it to closed.

Manage Status Options:

By default your FunctionFox account will be set up with the status options: Open and Closed.

To customize your statuses:

  1. Go to Projects > Project Status.
  2. Click on Tips/Links.
  3. Click on the link Manage Status Options to enable the status modal.
  4. Enter a new status.
  5. Select a Status Type:
    • “Open” types allow you to track time, enter costs, assign actions.
    • “Closed” types allow you to archive projects and limit the ability to add/adjust time, costs, and actions on the project.
  6. Click Save New

You can also edit an existing status by clicking on the pencil icon edit next to the status. Make your desired changes and Save Edit.

Archiving Projects

Once a project has been moved to a “Closed” status, you can archive it. Archiving is a way to put a Project into “storage” so that you will no longer see it listed with your open and closed Projects. All data is saved for reporting purposes, and you can alway de-archive Projects as needed.

Archiving a Project is recommended when it is complete and no longer needed for time tracking or scheduling. Archiving ensures that you are only viewing your active and current Projects so they remain your top priority.

To archive a project:

  1. Go to Projects > Manage or Projects > Project Status.
  2. Click on Tips/Links.
  3. Go to Archive Projects.
  4. Locate the project you wish to archive in the table and click on the checkbox beside it.

Note: Archiving projects will not cause you to lose any information for a project. Archived projects can still be visible for some reports and other features by enabling the “view archived” check box beside the project menu.

De-archiving Projects

If you need to re-activate a project to update information, you can do so by:

  1. Go to Projects > Manage or Projects > Project Status.
  2. Click on Tips/Links.
  3. Go to De-archive Projects.
  4. Locate the project you wish to de-archive in the table and click on the checkbox beside it.

Note: The de-archive table is filtered by default to only show projects archived in the last 90 days. Use the search/filter fields at the top of the page to find the project you wish to de-archive.

Archiving Personnel

When you have a user who no longer requires access to the account, we recommend that you archive them.

By archiving personnel you will retain all of their historical information, as well as remove their ability to login to the account. As with projects you can de-archive a user if you wish to re-activate their login.

How to archive personnel:

  1. Go to Personnel > Manage.
  2. Click on Tips/Links.
  3. Go to Archive Personnel.
  4. Locate the personnel in the table and click on the checkbox beside their name.

You can follow similar steps to de-archive personnel by clicking the link for De-Archive Personnel under Tips/Links.

Archiving Clients

Have a client you are no longer working with? You have the ability to also archive clients within your account. Clients can only be archived when all their subsequent projects have been closed.

To archive a client:

  1. Go to Clients > Manage.
  2. Click on Tips/Links.
  3. Go to Archive Clients.
  4. locate the Client in the table and click on the checkbox beside their name.

Ready to upgrade your team's potential?

Book a demo